New Year Reflections

The New Year brings time for reflection, my family have been so fortunate this year, we welcomed my beautiful daughter, Ava. And whilst we haven’t really celebrated her first Christmas we we thankful that my Dad is still with us following heart surgery. So many families are not fortunate to have had a loved one undergo surgery, they are not given that second chance. Despite Dad being discharged from hospital on Christmas eve, we have sent most days since in emergency and he has been admitted both Christmas night and NYE. Missing out on Christmas and NY celebrations is nothing new to my family, we are a hospitality family so when everyone is celebrating, we are working. But the medical staff working over Christmas and New Year are absolute angels!

The fabulous medical staff at Ashford hospital, in Accident & Emergency and also in the Cardiac Care Unit are truly remarkable. These people put their lives on hold, to care for others. Selflessly working, Doctors and surgeons consulting in the early hours of the morning, and then back again at 7am. Words can’t express our gratitude. My charity of choice is the Heart Foundation, and  now even more so, check out the heart foundations website, it has some great tips about how to approach fitness and diet.

My first personal experience with dedicated medical staff was also at Ashford hospital, where Ava was born. My Obstetrician and Ava’s paediatrician. I have so many letters to write now that it is the New Year, to thanks these wonderful, selfless individuals.  And of course in writing to these people I need beautiful cards and stationery.

Kombi By Tim Crawshaw

My Christmas cards for 2009 were by my very dear friend and thoughtful photographer, Tim Crawshaw.   The Kombi is my favourite card, it reflects our Christmas far better than the snowmen and white Christmas themes. It infuriates me when going to my local newsagency and on offer are winter themed Christmas cards, so irrelevant! To Tim’s website I went, Tim has a collection on RedBubble, gorgeous cards, a canvas and a stunning wall calendar.  With RedBubbles quick and easy ordering process and fast delivery you will be writing to your loved ones in no time!

The Cruel Sea - Tim Crawshaw

Jetty Mechanix by Tim Crawshaw

Winner of the BYO Coffee Cup + Tease  Tea pack is ‘Anita’

congratulations Anita and I will get in touch with you soon for your postal address, so I can send your great prize pack out to you.

I am determined to make a concerted effort to write to my family and friends, it doesn’t have to be a ream of paper, maybe just a thoughtful note in a gorgeous card, or a short note to let those special few know, I am thinking of them. This week I have a beautiful letter writing set from the gorgeous Italian made (the best stationery comes from Italy) Portofino letter writing and note card, new to Tonic I haven’t yet listed them on the website, Pack is valued at over $50. Please subscribe to the blog and make a comment on this post to be in the running for the beautiful letter writing pack. Good luck and thanks for following my blog.

* WIN * Portofino Stationery Pack * WIN *

Happy New Year to you all, 2010 is going to be fabulous!

15 Responses

  1. Ive subscribed to your blog :o)
    My email address is djchilds@hotmail.com. Great giveaway, very pretty writing set!

  2. Thank you for sharing your blog. Hospital staff everywhere are wonderful and deserve a big “thank you” for the job they do all year

  3. I hope 2010 brings you good things. This stationery set looks lovely. I can just imagine the letters I could write with that.

  4. This set looks amazing. count me in!

    • Sonia, you are the winner of the Portofino letter writing set. Congratulations and thanks for subscribing to my blog. Please email me at louisa@tonicgifts.com.au with your postal details and I will pop your parcel in the post.
      Best L

  5. I would love to win the beautiful writing set,it is very stylish and blue,I love to write as i have many penpals I write to oversaes and my grandmother who lives in germany is very oldfashioned and likes me to write to her and poetry.

  6. Louisa, I agree that a new year is a great time for reflection. I take my hat off to shiftworkers and to all those who work over weekends and Public Holidays. I have relatives who work as nurses, firemen and policemen and I am in awe of their contribution to society.
    I’m a bit rusty in regard to the art of letter writing, but I’m sure if the Portofino Stationery Pack comes my way I’ll soon put pen to paper and communicate in a style which shows thoughtfulness and thankfulness.
    Best wishes for 2010 to you and every blog reader!

  7. My New Year Resolution (every year!) is to write letters to friends and family, and notes to thank people for efforts above and beyond the “call of duty” – maybe this Portofino Stationery Pack has been missing from my life, and it’s just what I need!

  8. I have subscribed to your blog, I have a feeling I already had, so we will see what happens! :S The stationery is beautiful, it’d give me a nice reason to write to my mum more often. Usually we just email but I think it’s always pleasant to receive something in your mailbox that isn’t a bill!

    • Katherine, I am sure it would make your mum’s day to receive a letter. It is such a rarity today, but such an easy way to put a smile on some one dear.

  9. I really love good stationery, and I’m with you, we have become lazy with the PC on hand, sending off emails, visiting social network pages and even E-cards.
    This stationery just might change our habits

  10. As an ex-nurse and not a palliative care volunteer, we see people at their worst time in their lives, and I can tell you that I feel incredibly honoured to be let into these people lives at their most vulnerable. I have witnessed such courage, conviction, strength and determination.
    It is good that although so much of your Christmas and New Year was spent at the hospital that you can still see that you are lucky. We have witnessed so many disasters this century with so many loss of lives, that we in this affluent country of Australia should be thankful daily.
    I send spiritual healing to your father and healing energy to his doctors and pray that he is still with you for many Christmases to come

    • thank you Cheryl, that is so kind of you. Dad is getting on well, stronger each day. Best, L

  11. woops I should have typed an ex-nurse and NOW a palliative care volunteer!!

  12. By the way, I too am in Adelaide and have myself been in the Ashford hospital.
    Your blog on photographer Tim Crawshaw really got my interest, and so of course I had to visit his website, and I am blown away, this is the type of photography that I would love to do (I am not by any stretch of the imagination a PHOTOGRAPER, but I can dream) to photograph simple everyday things and make them look wonderful. Another thing I will not buy Christmas cards depicting a winter Christmas, if I can’t find Australiana ones which I like, I will buy traditional ones depicting the reason we celebrate this time of the year

Leave a Reply

